Carole…

…speaking through art, poetry and humour…oh and politics too!

“When the centre collapses the peripheral will become central!”

“When the centre collapses the peripheral will become central!”

This phrase has stayed with me for many years. I remember hearing it on a documentary about social change over ten years ago.

Some insightful man looked ahead at how the things that are now coming to pass…demonization of the working and non working poor, stamping into the ground of the already sick and vulnerable and the stripping away of support networks across the length and breadth of our beautiful country. And it was so clear to me, that we must all…always…look out for those less fortunate than ourselves, because it can change in the blink of an eye.

I feel as an owner of a neighbouring home next to a concentration camp might have felt during the Nazi culls. By not speaking out loud and clear then I am culpable.

I may as well be pouring the death crystals down the shoot!

I am as guilty as each dirty politician who brings yet another cruel law into this harsh world if I don’t speak out. Someone once said to me that I am anti Tory and they were sick of my hate speech.

Well hell yeah!

I didn’t used to be like this but those in power have certainly made me so! You couldn’t have hoped to meet a more lackadaisical person when it came to politics. When it came to vote time I just put my X to whomever my Dad had always voted for.

I now can’t keep quiet…not when I see so much cruelty and deliberate at that. Not just borne from ignorance…born from a real belief that the Tories seem to have that poverty is a failing in someone’s character.

I might not shout out very loud and barely anyone might hear me but my morals prevent me from not sharing and telling the plight of those far worse off than me.

So…all those folks out there who believe they’re safe from what is happening to the most fragile in society right now…remember the Romans.

Great Countries are only made and only remain when society is fair and just. When people care for each other and don’t treat those less fortunate as if it’s their own fault.

Remember that you may be in the centre of greatness right now, but that doesn’t always remain. Life might be tickety-boo for you and you don’t want to upset the balance, but watch out for that bus coming round the corner or that car that fails to see you cross the road or you lose your job or….well the list is endless!

Disability isn’t always something you’re born with. Illness can creep up or it can leap out like a maniac on the rampage. Unemployment is a real possibility in these days of ‘austerity’

Start fighting now…whilst you have the energy and the gusto to do so.

Also here are some words that I happened to make rhyme (well sortof)

“That beggar on the street in India.

That woman raped in a far off land.

That child abused by an uncle.

When will we all understand?

That man shivering in his cold flat.

That dog beaten with a belt of leather.

That girl scarred with acid.

Yet they say we’re all in this together.

That lady who can’t feed her own kids.

That boy who only knows fear.

That pig up to it haunches in faeces.

The future we dreaded is here.

That doctor who abuses his patients.

That nurse who turns a blind eye.

That policeman who doesn’t treat fairly,

Or stop to question just why?

That flood and disaster so far off.

That child watching her father break down.

That horse starved whilst people look on.

I see this all and I frown.

Not at all of the victims.

Not at the acts that make our lives hells.

But at the lack of compassion and justice.

That we only act when it comes to ourselves.”

Written by carolecarrick

November 8, 2013 at 2:14 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Willowing Arts

Mixed Media Art by Tamara Laporte

Mike Deakin Art

Art Journaling, Mixed Media & Papercrafts

Wilsher 's Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Paula Carnes

Author & Health Advocate

Dirty, Naked & Happy

is currently taking a break from blogging x

Art Saves Lives International

Create Change - Engage, Educate and Express Our World

Scope's Blog

Scope exists to make this country a place where disabled people have the same opportunities as everyone else. Until then, we'll be here.

Utting-Wolff Spouts

Encompassing the natural and social sciences, politics and social justice issues

A rainbow at night

Navigating wholeness through acceptance, authenticity, and Buddhism.

The Other Side Of The Stretcher

Nurse Turned Patient Pointing Out The Dark Side Of Medicine!

Ordinary Miracles

This blog is my story about a life forever changed by chronic illness. I hope you'll laugh and cry with me as I try to make sense of it all. Oh, and nothing I say should ever be construed as offering medical or legal advice.

The poor side of life

EXPOSING CRIMES AGAINST HUMANITY.EXPOSING THE GOVERNMENTS WAR AGAINST THE POOR.FIGHTING FOR BASIC HUMAN RIGHTS. SANCTIONS KILL.

Thoughts About M.E.

Myalgic Encephalomyelitis (M.E.) Advocacy

Tim mattock's Blog

Some swearing, may well make your ears bleed

