Carole…

…speaking through art, poetry and humour…oh and politics too!

Cliff-Edge

Cliff-Edge

I’m walking by the sea,
The ground is firm beneath my feet and the salty breeze feels fresh upon my face.
Little waves lap upon the shore and I contemplate how my life feels good.
Suddenly the earth becomes soft and I stumble…I fall.
I lay there on the sandy grass and feel a little lost for a while.
I pick myself up and look down to see the ground is smooth and firm.
I stare down, a little confused but unharmed I move on.
Further on I notice there is a rise that starts to make me breathless,
I’m on a clifftop but well away from the edge,
Nearer to the drop are people walking aimlessly as though unaware of the fall just metres from their feet.
I look closer and there are fingers just visible at the very edge,
Clutching at the stones and grass…holding on but not for long.
I shout against the wind that has suddenly picked up
But no-one can hear me
I’m afraid to go closer to the cliffs
I look back toward the land and scream that I need help, there are people here who need help
No-one listens, people walk by without even stopping to look.
My words are drowned out by the wind.
I turn sharply back towards the cliffs
The fingers are gone and there are less people there standing.
Some are falling right from where they stand.
Some just disappear as though the wind took them.
I scream.
No-one hears.
I start to walk towards the edge.
It’s where I am drawn to.
It’s where the wind takes me.
No-one notices.
No-one tries to help me.
No-one cares.

Written by carolecarrick

December 16, 2013 at 12:19 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Willowing Arts

Mixed Media Art by Tamara Laporte

Mike Deakin Art

Art Journaling, Mixed Media & Papercrafts

Wilsher 's Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Paula Carnes

Author & Health Advocate

Dirty, Naked & Happy

the erratic journals of a happily incorrigible lady-child

Art Saves Lives International

Create Change - Engage, Educate and Express Our World

Scope's Blog

Scope exists to make this country a place where disabled people have the same opportunities as everyone else. Until then, we'll be here.

Utting-Wolff Spouts

Encompassing the natural and social sciences, politics and social justice issues

Coming Up For Air

Breathing spaces for busy parents

A rainbow at night

Navigating wholeness through acceptance, authenticity, and Buddhism.

The Other Side Of The Stretcher

Nurse Turned Patient Pointing Out The Dark Side Of Medicine!

Ordinary Miracles

This blog is my story about a life forever changed by chronic illness. I hope you'll laugh and cry with me as I try to make sense of it all. Oh, and nothing I say should ever be construed as offering medical or legal advice.

The poor side of life

EXPOSING CRIMES AGAINST HUMANITY.EXPOSING THE GOVERNMENTS WAR AGAINST THE POOR.FIGHTING FOR BASIC HUMAN RIGHTS. SANCTIONS KILL.

Thoughts About M.E.

Myalgic Encephalomyelitis (M.E.) Advocacy

Tim mattock's Blog

Some swearing, may well make your ears bleed

