Carole…

…speaking through art, poetry and humour…oh and politics too!

May 12th ME Awareness day

I’m just going to type and see what words come.

Tomorrow is ME Awareness Day…May12th chosen because it is Florence Nightingales birthdate who is believed to have had ME.

My brain is very fuzzy right now and I might not make much sense or any point to my ramblings.

I want to get across that I am thankful for having been struck down by this illness later in my life. I see everyday young beautiful people suffering from this illness. People who have had ME since childhood. 

People who haven’t had a first kiss or been held in the arms of someone who not only loves them but desires them.

People who haven’t gotten drunk and partied all night and walked home at sunrise.

People who never got to travel or swim in the sea, climb a hill to marvel at a view, walk for miles with their dog, have adventures and live and laugh and be part of the world.

I got all of that and more…oh so much more than that before my abilities were cut short.

I got to do whatever I wanted, whenever I wanted to do it…with no thought to pain, lack of energy, sickness, migraines, noise intolerances, food allergies…you know the rest…it’s endless and cruel.

I got to live and I did to the fullest a person can before I was made to stop by ME.

There are people out there right now…children and young beautiful adults that are not living…right now they are laid in their beds in agony being ignored by the medical profession and even worse accused of making it all up.

Who would do that? The only acting in this life of ME is the act of pretending everything is ok and fooling ourselves and those we love so we can get a job done, get to a family event etc and pretend to be normal for a few hours so we can be part of life again. 

That’s the lucky ones like me who can do that.

There are others who can’t even pretend for a day.

They lie and they wait and the need help…they are crying out for help and for a life and for you…the person that is reading this (and I thank you if you’ve got this far) by sharing this post, donating money to research or just talking to someone tomorrow May 12 and changing their views on this damned awful invisible illness. 

Just bring it up…out of the blue to one person and make them aware…I beg you…for the young ones sake…the ones who deserve a life…Please.x

http://www.ukrituximabtrial.org/IIMEUKRT%20Donate.htm

Written by carolecarrick

May 11, 2014 at 9:19 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Willowing Arts

Mixed Media Art by Tamara Laporte

Mike Deakin Art

Art Journaling, Mixed Media & Papercrafts

Wilsher 's Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Paula Carnes

Author & Health Advocate

Dirty, Naked & Happy

the erratic journals of a happily incorrigible lady-child

Art Saves Lives International

Create Change - Engage, Educate and Express Our World

Scope's Blog

Scope exists to make this country a place where disabled people have the same opportunities as everyone else. Until then, we'll be here.

Utting-Wolff Spouts

Encompassing the natural and social sciences, politics and social justice issues

Coming Up For Air

Breathing spaces for busy parents

A rainbow at night

Navigating wholeness through acceptance, authenticity, and Buddhism.

The Other Side Of The Stretcher

Nurse Turned Patient Pointing Out The Dark Side Of Medicine!

Ordinary Miracles

This blog is my story about a life forever changed by chronic illness. I hope you'll laugh and cry with me as I try to make sense of it all. Oh, and nothing I say should ever be construed as offering medical or legal advice.

The poor side of life

EXPOSING CRIMES AGAINST HUMANITY.EXPOSING THE GOVERNMENTS WAR AGAINST THE POOR.FIGHTING FOR BASIC HUMAN RIGHTS. SANCTIONS KILL.

Thoughts About M.E.

Myalgic Encephalomyelitis (M.E.) Advocacy

Tim mattock's Blog

Some swearing, may well make your ears bleed

